Early Childhood Australia’s prestigious awards are highly recognised within the early childhood education and care sector, acknowledging the valuable role that professional educators play in promoting and enhancing the delivery of early years learning. The award recipients are announced during the Early Childhood Australia National Conference, which attracts over 1500 educators and academics from the sector.

The following awards are now open:

Barbara Creaser Awards

  • Barbara Creaser Memorial Lecture Award
  • Barbara Creaser Champion Award
  • Barbara Creaser Young Advocates Award

Doctoral Thesis Award

  • ECA Doctoral Thesis Award

HESTA Early Childhood Education & Care Awards

  • HESTA Early Childhood Education & Care Awards


Barbara Creaser Awards and ECA Doctoral Thesis Awards timeline

Applications open  15 February 2023

ECA Doctoral Thesis applications close

Barbara Creaser Awards nominations close

28 April 2023

28 April 2023,
extended to 5 May 2023

Applicants are advised of the outcome 30 June 2023
Arrangements for conference registration and presentations are confirmed July 2023
Award recipients are announced at the Early Childhood Australia Conference 4—7 October 2023